Home Page

Early Years Foundation Stage

What it is the Early Years Foundation Stage framework - why do we have one?


The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) sets standards for the learning, development and care of children from birth to five. All schools and Ofsted registered early years providers must follow the EYFS. This includes childminders, Pre-Schools, nurseries and school reception classes. 


The EYFS Framework exists to support all professionals working in the EYFS to help your child, and was developed with a number of early years experts and parents.


It sets out:-


  • The legal welfare requirements that everyone registered to look after children must follow to keep your child safe and promote their welfare.


  • The 7 areas of learning and development which guide professionals' engagement with your child's play and activities as they learn new skills and knowledge.


  • Assessments that will tell you about your child’s progress through the EYFS


  • Expected levels that your child should reach at age 5, usually the end of the reception year; these expectations are called the “Early Learning Goals (ELGs)”


There is also guidance for the professionals supporting your child on planning the learning activities, and observing and assessing what and how your child is learning and developing.


The seven areas of learning that your child will be developing are;


The Prime areas:

  • personal, social and emotional development.
  • communication and language.
  • physical development.

Children should mostly develop the 3 prime areas first. These prime areas are those most essential for your child’s healthy development and future learning.


As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in 4 specific areas. 

These are:

  • literacy.
  • mathematics.
  • understanding the world.
  • expressive arts and design.


These 7 areas are used to plan your child’s learning and activities. The Practitioner's teaching and supporting your child will make sure that the activities are suited to your child’s unique needs. This is a little bit like a curriculum in primary and secondary schools, but it's suitable for very young children, and it's designed to be really flexible so that staff can follow your child's unique needs and interests. Children in the EYFS learn by playing and exploring, being active, and through creative and critical thinking which takes place both indoors and outside.


For more details on the EYFS please take a look at the link below.